Todd Gloria, Scott Sherman Headed for San Diego Mayor Runoff

State Assemblyman Todd Gloria (D-San Diego) is headed for a runoff for San Diego Mayor with City Councilman Scott Sherman this November. The unofficial tally from Tuesday’s primary has Gloria with 40.23% of the vote and Sherman with 25.17%. Barbara Bry, another council member, came in third with 23.61%

Gloria is a Democrat representing the 78th assembly district (San Diego, Coronado, Del Mar, Imperial Beach and Solano Beach). He was on the City Council until 2016, serving as president from 2012-2014. If he wins in November, San Diego would be the largest city with an openly gay mayor.

Sherman represents District 7. Although City Council positions are non-partisan, Sherman is a registered Republican. Despite a long history of Republican mayors, San Diego’s demographics are shifting and the city is becoming increasingly unfriendly territory for Republicans.

There were several City Council seats on the ballot Tuesday as well. In District 1, the top two vote-getters were Joe LaCava (25.54%) and Will Moore (15.37%). In District 3, the top two were Stephen Whitburn (30.14%) and Toni Duran (22.54%). In District 5, Joe Leventhal (38.79%) and Marni Von Wilpert (38.71%). In District 7, Raul Campillo (34.95%) and Noli Zosa (31.31%). All are headed for a November runoff.

For background on these City Council races, read this pre-election primer from Voice of San Diego.

Find results here.